31. Members of both Houses are paid an indemnity at the rate of \$10 a day if the Session is less than thirty days, and a maximum amount of \$1,000 if more than thirty days, \$8 a day being deducted for each day of absence (beyond a certain number of days fixed at each session), if the House is sitting, unless the absence is caused by illness after he has been in attendance. They also receive a mileage allowance of ten cents a mile going and coming.

The salary of each Speaker is \$4,000 annually.

32. Members of the House of Commons, when called to the Government as heads of departments, must at once resign their seats and seek re-election, an exception being made when an exchange of offices takes place.

All officers of the public service and contractors with the Government are forbidden to sit in Parliament, except in the case of officers in the

militia service.

33. The laws enacted for the preservation of the independence of Parliament and the prevention of corrupt practices at elections are contained in chapters 10 and 11, Revised Statutes of Canada, and provide for the appointment of a commission of inquiry in cases where the judges report corrupt practices. The statute provides severe penalties on persons who are disqualified sitting as members.

Since 1874 the House of Commons has given up its jurisdiction over the trial of controverted elections. Instead of special committees, the courts in the several provinces are now the tribunals for the trial of all contested elections. The election expenses of candidates must be published by their agents after the election. A candidate may be disqualified from sitting in the Commons or voting or holding any office in the gift of the Crown for seven years on conviction of personal bribery.

- 34. The administration of the several subjects set apart by the Confederation Act for the Federal authorities to deal with is carried on by means of departments, presided over by members of the Privy Council, whose functions are regulated by statute. At present there are twelve heads of departments. These are (1) the President of the Privy Council, (2) the Minister of Public Works, (3) Minister of Railways and Canals, (4) Minister of Trade and Commerce, (5) Minister of Militia and Defence, (6) Minister of Agriculture, (7) Secretary of State, (8) Minister of Justice, (9) Minister of Finance, (10) Minister of Marine and Fisheries, (11) Postmaster General, (12) Minister of the Interior. Customs and Inland Revenue, which are under the general control of the Minister of Trade and Commerce, have at the head of each a Controller who is a member of Parliament, but is not in either case a member of the Privy Council. The Solicitor General, who is attached to the Department of Justice, is also a member of Parliament without a seat in the Cabinet. The Secretary of State is head of the Department of Public Printing. The Minister of the Interior has under his charge the Departments of the Geological Survey and of Indian Affairs, and the President of the Privy Council is head of the Mounted Police.
- 35. The fullest discussion is allowed in the Parliament of Canada, and the Houses have never been compelled, through obstruction, to resort to closure of debate.